CAI awarded 625 career-enriching designations during the organization’s 2018 Annual Conference and Exposition. Like other CAI members who have achieved these credentials before them, all of the new designees have dedicated themselves to becoming experts in community association management and operations and have committed to abide by the high standards of CAI’s Professional Code of Ethics.

After successfully completing all 200-level Professional Management Development Program (PMDP) courses and an arduous Case Study, along with several years’ experience as professional managers, 87 CAI members were awarded the Professional Community Association Manager (PCAM) designation, the world’s most prestigious and respected credential for association managers. Nearly 3,000 managers now hold this significant industry recognition, which was first awarded in 1982 to 17 managers.

Additionally, more than 500 managers received the noteworthy Association Management Specialist (AMS) designation. This important credential requires several years of management experience and indicates a manager’s commitment to the community management profession and to advancing his or her career.

Two managers—Sarah E. Gerstein, CMCA, AMS, LSM, PCAM, and Vicki E. Eaton, CMCA, AMS, LSM, PCAM—were awarded CAI’s Large-Scale Manager (LSM) designation. Eaton is the 100th manager to earn this specialist credential, which is available only to managers who have already earned the PCAM designation and who have demonstrated proficiency in managing communities representing 1,000 units or more and with budgets of $2 million or greater.

CAI’s Community Insurance and Risk Management Specialist (CIRMS) designation recognizes a demonstrated high level of competence within the risk management profession. Eleven insurance professionals received this valuable credential at this year’s Annual Conference.

Based on the educational equivalent of a bachelor’s degree in construction management, architecture, or engineering, and after years of specialized experience in the field, professional reserve specialists are qualified to ensure that community associations have accurate reserve budgets based on a thorough review of common areas and infrastructure. No less than a dozen CAI members were awarded the esteemed Reserve Specialist (RS) designation.

Ten management companies received the Accredited Association Management Company (AAMC) designation, bringing the number of businesses with this invaluable credential to more than 300. The AAMC designation indicates to client community associations that a management company is committed to providing unique and diverse services and has ensured that its employees have the skills, experience, and integrity to help communities succeed.


  • Daniel Brannigan

    Daniel Brannigan is CAI's Director of Publishing and Managing Editor of Common Ground™ magazine. He has been editor of CAI's flagship publication since 2010 and previously edited CAI's newsletters Community Manager, Minutes, and Law Reporter. Daniel has helped guide Common Ground to awards for feature article design and single-topic issue from Association Media & Publishing's EXCEL Awards. Community Manager picked up six awards for general excellence and newswriting under Daniel's guidance from 2007-2010. A former reporter, Daniel is a graduate of Syracuse University's S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications. He lives in Philadelphia with his wife, daughter, pug, and cat.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!